Musica Novacaine

No you CAN\’T sleep through this stuff…

A new look at composition and music-making.

Posted by Todd Reynolds on October 11, 2006

To all my colleagues in Musica Nova, today it begins. Wednesday and Friday, 1:45-3:30 in 514 and Kilbourne Hall, respectively.

Also check out the October 18th Concert Page. 

Volume Fader

You need to bring nothing but your bad selves, your instruments, and a notepad or notebook for taking some personal notes. oh, and toys, if you got’em. like, you know, noisemakers. It’s all good.

So, by the afternoon of October 11th, you’ll have a bunch of new tools with which to make music, and you won’t even know how it happened. Be very very scared. (just kidding)

I’ll give you all the basic principles in rehearsal, then i’ll post some of them here tomorrow afternoon as well. I just want you to hear them and work with them before seeing them in writing.

Want to hear what sort of music SoundPainting™ can produce?
Listen to this…

It’s from an Improvisation concert at the Bang on a Can Summer Institute last summer.

There were other completely unique and organic improvisations as well which were not led with SoundPainting™ , but rather from expanded listening.

Listen to them here…

2 Responses to “A new look at composition and music-making.”

  1. zach dellinger said

    Sounds like you had a great time. I read the article that steve wrote, and I wonder if I would be right in using your expression Tod. Steve maybe a composer of Death? Anyway I found the article very insightful. It would be awsome to join an orchestra that had an early group, new group, and “traditional group”. Sounds like a great idea, what’s the hold up. Does anybody know of any that exist. Steives pridiction of pop musicians/electrica composers/new music composers coexist seems to be a good predictions to me. well anyway it’s pretty exciting stuff.
    And sound painting, I mean hell yea. I look forward to it. It’s good to have you back todd, Eastman rocks a little more with you around. See you tommorow.

    P.S. You think I could play the prelude to the 6th suite for you. I could use some for of those ass kicking pep talks that you so elequently unleash from time to time. But seriously I learned so much from the last time I played for you.

    Zach Dellinger

  2. absolutely you can play for me… how about tonite before the concert or tomorrow? thanks for the good words… see you this afternoon! t

Leave a comment